Skip to Store Area:

CoolDrives

Search Site

CoolDrives Store | My Account | Login | Checkout

IDE/SATA hard drive adapter

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

USB 3.0 / 2.0 to IDE/SATA adapter with Write-Protection

23 Review(s) SKU: SS-127ASD

Availability: In stock.

Regular Price: $54.95

Special Price: $49.95

  • Buy 12 for $48.12 each and save 4%
  • Buy 24 for $47.55 each and save 5%
  • Buy 48 for $45.85 each and save 9%
Add Items to Cart Add to Cart

Customer Reviews

  1. OK! Review by cyberpost
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Works like a charm and a great price~ Thanks (Posted on 4/14/2015)

  2. Works as intended with FTK and Acronis - good for forensic images Review by howarddavidp
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Hello,

    I purchased one of these units to do computer forensics on an infected machine where I work. While there are units that cost 10x what I paid for this unit, it gets the job done correctly. What I am not sure of is whether or not the device has a certificate to verify what it does, like for a court case with chain-of-custody evidence. However, mechanically, it does work and you can block all writes going back to the drive. I used it with Acronis and the FTK image programs, it worked well with both of them. I also plugged a drive in and attached it to a Windows 7 machine, and Windows could not write back to the device with Recycle Bin of System Volume Information folders/directories. So if you don't need to go to court/"write block certificate", it works like it is supposed to, without any issues or hassle. Right out of the box simple and easy to use. We will most likely buy several more.

    David
    (Posted on 1/5/2015)

  3. Amazing features for price Review by cpnrnd
    Quality
    Value
    Price

    The main reason I purchased this item was for the write-protection. It works perfectly and I highly recommend this item if that is what you are looking for. (Posted on 11/12/2014)

  4. Excellent product Review by Customer
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    This product has become a very useful tool. Compared to other products that do the same as this product it is affordable, and so far seems reliable enough to depend on. Also a very easy product to use.
    (Posted on 9/12/2014)

  5. Fast! Review by Dave
    Quality
    Value
    Price

    I needed a hardware write-protect interface for some forensic disk examination. I was skeptical that a device in this price range would be fast enough to be useful, but it's significantly faster than an older adapter I'd been using. The old adapter has USB2, FW800 and eSATA (not tested, though). It could read ~40MB/s through USB2 and ~90MB/s through FireWire.

    This CoolDrives box reads at about 150MB/s (USB3, Mac) and maybe a little slower on a Linux box (all reading from the same WD Black 1TB drive).

    I'm delighted with this device -- it's going to save me a lot of time! I'll have to give the eSATA a try...maybe it's even faster. (Posted on 8/31/2014)

  6. Functional - I like it Review by AirForce
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Kinda like the write protection feature which is different from the ones I've used a few years ago. Retired IT guy (and retired police officer). Had another product that was about the same price that came with software tools. Wish I could find that again, oh well. I was able to read some damaged drives, others were totally toast. But for ease, portability and function, its a good tool to have. Didn't give it 5 stars for value although I did a 5 mostly for design features but it is the 1st I've had with a power switch (although no additional software) so a 4 for price. There are others out there that can beat this IF you want a different arrangement. But functional, gives me lights, power switch, so can't complain really. Shipping was good too. (Posted on 8/11/2014)

  7. Happy with purchase. Review by N2S
    Value
    Price
    Quality

    Worked well. I used it on a USB 3.0 and 2.0 and had no issues. Accomplished the task at hand which was to remove files from a hard drive out of a broken PC. Nice tool to have around if you're the go to guy when friends have PC problems. (Posted on 12/29/2013)

  8. Great price for a full featured device Review by David
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    The price of this device is unheard of compared to other write blocking devices. The fact that it can support many HDD types is very helpful and the USB3 interface insures that large drives can be imaged much faster. (Posted on 9/5/2013)

  9. Excellent buy and service! Review by Michael
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Excellent product. Have already used on a sata and a IDE drive. Write protect has worked each time. Outstanding product, price and shipping ! Will buy again . (Posted on 7/9/2013)

  10. Perfect Review by Wendy
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Works like a charm and a great price~ Thanks (Posted on 6/28/2013)

Items 1 to 10 of 23 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: USB 3.0 / 2.0 to IDE/SATA adapter with Write-Protection

How do you rate this product?*
  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Price
Quality
Value